Leybourne Grange Hospital – Kent

Leybourne Grange is located right beside the M20 near Maidstone. That said, you wouldn’t know it’s there – it covers around 270 acres and is very tree-based. The trees (and fresh air etc) were meant to be good for the patients. 1200 patients.

It opened in 1936, was used for sixty years, and finally closed in 1996. There is a private school on the site which is still in use. The colony was built in the grounds of a huge manor house which still remains. The manor house also has an impressive clock tower.

A lot of the buildings are very well boarded up, but we managed to look in a few.

Hall

First stop was the main hall. This was used to entertain the patients (discos, etc) and also for religious worship as there is no chapel on site.

  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 101
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 102

Inside is a fantastic little buggy, some junk, and a projection booth..

  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 103
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 104
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 105
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 106
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 107
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 108
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 109
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 110
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 111
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 112

Boiler Room / Engineering

From the outside…

  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 113
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 114

.. and inside is an impressive selection of boilers. There are eight huge ones, and you can climb on top of some of them.

  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 115
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 116
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 117
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 118
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 119

There’s also loads of little rooms with various tools and things. There is also an office.

  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 120
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 121
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 122
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 123
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 124

Kitchen / Laundry

Considering the hospital closed 10 years ago, I can’t beleive how many machines are left in the kitchen and laundry areas…

  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 125
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 126
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 127
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 128
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 129

Nurses Home

This is a behemoth of a building. It’s four storeys high and it housed a million nurses (to confirm?). Every single window is smashed. Apart from the ground floor ones which were all boarded up.

  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 130
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 131

Manor House

The manor house was used as an admin block. It is very secure with alarms and boarding. The clock tower is quite fancy too.

  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 132
  • Thumbnail of Leybourne Grange Hospital - 133

And that’s it. I missed the mortuary. I seem to always miss the mortuary at hospitals (not due to spookiness factor)…

This entry was posted in Asylums and Hospitals, kent. Bookmark the permalink.

233 Responses to Leybourne Grange Hospital – Kent

  1. Margaret says:

    I worked at Leybourne Grange from 1973 to 1980 . Used to get the hospital bus from Rochester .I worked all nights starting around 8pm until 7am . I worked in most of the cc villas and used to relieve the staff who were on their own for supper break. Remember sitting in C5 night station and being so scared that i locked myself in. Walking through the woods in the wee hours was also scary .
    I remember Patrick in cc3 ..will never forget him and yes he did have a sense of humour . I was a young mum then and it was a shock for me to see that all babies were not perfect after all .
    We took bodies to the morgue during the night …that was freaky but being young and nervous we giggled a lot .
    Oh the memories I could write a book .
    Gwen Stone was a great night nurse .Oh those supervisors who used to creep around the villas in the middle of the night likely trying to catch us sleeping ….hope they all rest in peace !!
    I live in Canada now but I would have loved to go to Leybourne Grange just one more time !

    • Michaela says:

      Hi Margaret,

      I was very interested to read your comment. I had a relative living at LG. His name was Bobby King and I would love to know if you remembered or had any knowledge of him. My family have been able to tell me some things about him but I feel I want to know more. I also have a son with non-verbal autism and find it fascinating how life is so different through time.

      Michaela

    • Jean says:

      Margaret i wonder if you knew my father he worked and lived at Leybourne. Dont want to put too much info on here though. Would be lovely to here from someone who knew him, Fromwhat you have put above i do believe that quite possibly you did know him.

    • Hi Margaret, I was just wondering if you knew my father who worked at Leybourne? He was a bus/coach driver then went to work in the Mortuary. I noticed you said you took bodies to the morgue during the night so wondered if you did know him. He also lived there in the nurses homes. He died in 1976 as far as I know in his room at Leybourne. He was 49.Would love to hear from you if you did know him. Thank you Jean

  2. cathy says:

    my grandparents both worked at leybourne grange and my uncle was a patient there

  3. Keith Tearle - Leybourne says:

    I am compiling information on Leybourne Grange, now rapidly becoming a housing estate, for Leybourne Parish Council’s website. I should be grateful for details of experiences and memories for inclusion. Names will only be included with permission. Love to hear from you directly.

    Regards
    Keith Tearle

  4. Jill Oakham says:

    My sister. Sandra Betty, lived at Leybourne Grange from the age of 6 until she died there of TB, aged 30. I think that would have been in 1976. We visited very often and had no evidence that the care was anything but good. She was always very happy to see us, especially our Dad!

  5. Jake says:

    i work in a care home where 5 residents have all come from LG

  6. Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all people you actually recognise what you’re speaking about! Bookmarked. Please also consult with my web site =). We can have a hyperlink change contract between us

  7. Jack Balchin says:

    Hello Richard.
    I am sorry it has taken so long to reply to your message.
    We are speaking of the same person, it is my miss spelling of the surname that has caused the confusion.
    I also rember my dad speaking of Fred Hearnden, were you the young lad who kept the cricket scores.
    I ask because i have a photograph of the team from the mid 1950s with very clear pictures of the whole team including a young lad in a blazzer holding the score book.
    My mother was a ward sister on cc3. my dad an assistant Chief Male Nurse.
    And an aunte who was an assistant Matron her name was Mrs Randel .
    You say you worked in the mansion in the finance dept, do you rember a Consultant Psychiatrist called Dr Wallion who also with his family lived in the mansion.

    If you wish i could try and scan the photo to you.
    Any way it was all a long time ago.
    Happy christmas to you.
    best wishes.
    Jack.

  8. Vinny duvell says:

    Why was leybourne grange closed down, because I’m interested in this sort of thing I read an article on a website saying “it was like everyone was doing there work etc!! And 1 day everyone just stopped what they was doing and just left

  9. Beth Stedman says:

    Does any 1 know why it closed and why it was left the way it was. According to some people they have said that even notes of clients was left?? Why was this did anything happen ? It’s liked everything was dropped and that’s how it stayed. I can’t find anywhere why this hospital closed and why machines and notes were just left.

  10. Nelson D'Silva says:

    Hello There!!! I had not worked at Leyborune Grange Hospital but Mr RWV Potton who previously had been the Deputy Chief Male NUrse at Harperbury Hospital in Harper Lane,Radlett, St Albans, did move to Leybourne Grange. I had informed him that I was moving to Australia and he acknowledged this and asked that I keep in touch.Unfortunately I had misplaced his letter and recently when clearing out the boxes of papers from the garage I came across his letter.Would someone know of him and if so, could they please let me know if I could get in touch with him? He may be quite aged I guess but would like to know how I may be able to write to him. KInd Regards.Nelson D’Silva

  11. Martin says:

    I was a borstal boy in 1977 and worked at leybourne can’t say it was great

  12. jeanette kavanagh. was field says:

    I worked at leybourne as a student nurse and senms back in 1976 for about 10 years. What a change to care work these days

  13. Trish says:

    I worked in the offices in the manor. I was downstairs at first then got promoted to upstairs in the finance office. I was a shorthand typist. I was 18. It was in 1964. I lived in Larkfield and had just got married. I remember my time at Leybourne Grange very clearly. I was very young and innocent and seeing the suffering of some of the patients really upset me. We had sports day with the patients and staff which was a lot of fun. Since researching my family history I discovered that my own grandmother was in LCC Epsom Mental Homes which also became derelict and have been demolished. There is quite a lot of info on Leybourne Grange on net, which I am grateful for. Sad to see it all go but at least the manor was saved and made into apartments. I have lived in Perth, Western Australia now for 43 years.

    • Hi Trish, I was just wondering if you knew my father who worked at Leybourne? He was a bus/coach driver then went to work in the Mortuary. I noticed you said you worked there in 1964. He also lived there in the nurses homes. He died in 1976 as far as I know in his room at Leybourne. He was 49.Would love to hear from you if you did know him. Thank you Jean

Leave a Reply

