Ditchingham Maltings – Suffolk

Various forums and websites mistakenly name this as “Wainford Maltings”, presumably because of a nearby roadsign. The real Wainford maltings is about a mile further down the road though. This one is Ditchingham maltings.

And sadly it’s one that’s always taken for granted. I’ve passed it many times and thought “I’ll have a look in there one day”. I even stopped once for a very quick look (October 2007) but didn’t have enough time to look round properly. One visit in May 2008 was depressing – the maltings were half demolished with guys picking away at it with huge machines. Uh. The picking didn’t last long – the recession put halt to any conversion plans. In August 2009, over half of the maltings still exist. Who knows what the future holds for them…

Some of the buildings in the first photo have now been demolished. Much of the others remain…

  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 589
  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 590
  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 591
  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 592
  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 593
  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 597
  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 598

The huge grain storage silos are a rather boring local landmark – they can be seen from miles around.

  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 594
  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 595
  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 596

The 2007 visit didn’t result in many internal shots – time was against me. The 2009 revisit gave me more time to shoot things properly.. I ventured upstairs but the floor was rotten – I didn’t fancy dying so didn’t explore up there…

  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 599
  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 600
  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 601
  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 602
  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 603
  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 604
  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 605
  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 606
  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 607
  • Thumbnail of Ditchingham Maltings - 608

I liked the blueness of the machinery and walls.

This entry was posted in Industry, suffolk and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ditchingham Maltings – Suffolk

  1. Steady says:

    this place looks good … ever been to the bass maltings site in sleaford.. it takes a few hours to walk round the whole place its massive. worth a visit if your ever in the area.

  2. Hello, my name is Tom Honeywood and I live in Ditchingham and was delighted to see and read about your experience at Ditchingham maltings. I had often considered having a look myself prior to the redevelopement of the site and subsequent demolition. I remember a trip around the maltings when I was a boy because my father took me in order to take some photos from the silos. It was quite a hairy experience even then. Any way I am compiling a history book about Ditchingham and I wondered if you would mind if I used a photo or two as it would be great to include some shots of such a prominent building for the village and yet now almost gone. Are the urbex:uk photos also yours or would I need seperate permissions? If it isn’t possible I shall of course respect your decision but in any case I congratulate you for a great website and the valuable work you are doing in preserving our architectural heritage by your photographic records. Regards Tom Honeywood.

  3. Charlie Dye says:

    Found this site by accident, while I was looking at the HMS Ganges site (served there 1966, 1969-1971). My farther worked at the maltings around 1969 -1970 when it was a thriving business, used to go down and see what was going on, those were the good times. I now look at the images and feel sad that it has all gone.

  4. ian jones says:

    how beautifully sad.

  5. mervyn hood says:

    It always annoys me when people make ‘knowledgable’ comments about subjects and they cannot get even the most basic facts correct. Ditchingham Maltings happen to be on the northern side of the River Waveney – this positions them in Norfolk and NOT in Suffolk.

Leave a Reply

